You are here

About the Court

The United States District Court for the Eastern District of Kentucky is the Federal District court whose jurisdiction comprises the following Kentucky counties: Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Greenup, Harlan, Harrison, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, Wayne, Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford.

Where the Court is located

The court is headquartered in Lexington with divisional offices in Ashland, Covington, Frankfort, London and Pikeville. At one time the court also met in Catlettsburg, Richmond and Jackson; however, the court left Catlettsburg when the Carl D. Perkins Federal Building and United States Courthouse in Ashland was completed.

U.S. Court of Appeals

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Cincinnati, Ohio maintains appellate jurisdiction for the district.

U.S. Attorney

The United States Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of Kentucky represents the United States in civil and criminal litigation in the court.